YAY 4 YA Day 1: Meet the Characters

Today is the day—-the start of my first blog tour as a soon to be published author. I am thrilled to share with the YA community a week- long event where readers can get to know more about my debut novel, The Chosen Ones, while also taking part in some great discussions about YA lit itself.

Today’s YAY 4 YA topic is Character. Head on over to Novel Novice to meet the characters of The Chosen Ones. Scroll down to the comments section on this post to answer the following question about today’s topic:

Who are some of your favorite characters in YA lit? What makes them stand apart from the slew of Young Adult characters out there today?

So how do you win again? You will be entered one time for each of the following: leaving a comment, following me on twitter (make sure you tell me in the comments section that you followed), and liking my Facebook page.

At the conclusion of YAY 4 YA, I will be picking 5 winners at random to win the following:

2 winners will receive: a signed Chosen Ones poster, a signed Chosen Ones arc, AND a signed Mortal Instruments poster by Cassandra Clare

3 additional winners will win: a signed Mortal Instruments poster by Cassandra Clare and an e-book version of The Chosen Ones

The blog tour runs all week:

Monday, April 23rd   Novel Novice

Tuesday, April 24th    Girls in the Stacks

Wednesday, April 25th    Hypable

Thursday, April 26th    Mundie Moms

Friday, April 27th   The Readiacs

And now a sneak peek at The Chosen Ones (Available for Pre-order now at Barnes and Noble and Amazon and in-stores on June 12th)

Built in the mixed styles of Jacobson and Victorian architecture, Templeton was a monument to what the council sought for our war-torn country—a return to supremacy. The large estate was built of brick and stone, the inside filled with works of art and period furniture ravaged from museums left penniless when funds were redirected to war programs. Everything in the mansion was a statement of purity, including the glaringly white walls and floors. Combined with the pastel-colored adornments, it was a reminder to all naturals, who themselves lived in glorified prisons, of what we once were. Nothing could appear too modern in the home of the very things that defined our modern age.

It was the picture of deception.

I would have to pretend I didn’t notice the imbalance of it all. The council watched my people lose their homes, move to shanty towns and tent cities, before finally being rounded up to live in barely hospitable compounds that were mostly renovated abandoned buildings—somehow having survived through the bombings.

But nothing came free. We would have to pay dearly to feel so protected.

We were supposed to be thankful to have a training center located in our sector. There were only three total in the whole of the Western lands, and because our sector lay close to the borders that separated us from the Middlelands, we were honored with a whole young army of genetically engineered superhumans.

My time at Templeton would be spent making sure the training chosen ones had everything they needed. I would stand silent as I watched them learn physical combat. I would clean out the trash from classrooms where the teacher preached on about the evils and wantonness of the naturals. I would scrub floors as the chosen ones wandered aimlessly among the bountiful grounds of Templeton, while my people were confined in the compound. I would wash dishes as the chosen ones wished for the day when they would no longer have to keep watch over the naturals. I would fold laundry as those above us lavished in their life of decadence, while my people struggled to mend our hand-me-down uniforms.

At least that’s how I expected to spend my days. Instead, I met with something very different…

15 thoughts on “YAY 4 YA Day 1: Meet the Characters”

  1. Favorite YA characters include Hazel from The Fault in Our Stars, Anne from Anne of Green Gables, Mattie from A Northern Light – they are spunky and brave and not crabby or self-centered, the latter being to me makes them stand out from other YA characters.

    nbmars AT yahoo DOT com

  2. Some of my fav YA characters are Karou (Daughter of Smoke & Bone), Evanjalin (Finnikin of the Rock), and Tris (Divergent). They are so Amazing (yes, the capital A is needed)! They are all strong and brave, and will fight for what is right.

  3. Favorite YA character is Kate (The Goddess Test/Goddess Interrupted). I feel like she is so relatable and I love reading as she grew from someone who was more insecure to someone who is strong and brave and much more mature.
    P.S. I follow you on Twitter and Facebook 🙂

  4. Currently my favorite YA Character is Tris from Divergent. She stands out to me because she started off as this confused and scared “little” girl and now she’s so strong and…sometimes in YA you don’t see enough of the transformation. Heroines are depicted as people who have to always be strong, but Tris proves that there is strength in vulnerability. Plus she’s a bad-ass.

    I followed you on Twitter. I’m @ravenamo.

    And I liked your Facebook page.

  5. Some of my favorite characters in YA are Katy from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Gwendolyn (Gwen) Frost from the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep. Both Katy and Gwen stand out because they’re both strong willed. They overcame family tragedies and found themselves in bizarre dangerous situations, which they accepted and adjusted to. They also stick to who they are and that just makes them awesome.
    And i’m following you on twitter @Mont4_A

  6. In YA lit? EVER? That’s such a difficult choice!! Okay. Hermione Granger, of course. Because she has the brains and she’s from Harry Potter, which gives her automatic cool points. Also, Lucy Pevensie because she gets to be a queen in a magical world. Which is pretty awesome.

    @LooChiaPet

  7. My favorites are Rose Hathaway (VA), Fire, and Katniss. They have such inner strength. They truly embody it. Exactly what I’m looking for in a heroine.

    @deadtossedwaves

  8. My fav YA characters:
    Clary and Jace~The Mortal Instrument Series
    Nora~Hush,Hush
    Clara Gardner~Unearthly
    Salvatore Brothers and Elena~ Vampire Diaries
    Shane,Eve,Micheal and Claire~The Morganville Vampires

  9. Bwahahahaha! Funny you should ask that. I recently wrote a blog post on this very topic. Check it out!

    Word of warning, Ren from the Tiger’s Curse series dominates the list. He’s my Superman…
    My Favorite Book Characters

    I follow you on Twitter: @MTGReviews
    I follow you on Facebook: Jenna DeTrapani

  10. Currently my favorite YA Character is Sophie from “Howl’s Moving Castle”. She is very different, funny, quirky and lovable.

    Thank you so much for the amazing giveaway!

    I follow you on Twitter: @kyo0chan
    I follow you on Facebook: Tal Rejwan

  11. My favourite YA characters have to be, Tris and Four from Divergent. Rose from Vampire Academy and Daemon and Kat from Obsidian. I love them all so much! But my all time favourite has to be Lena and Hana from Delirium!

    I follow you on Twitter: @StephLikesBooks

    Thanks for the great giveaway! 😀

Leave a Reply

