#YAReaderWeek Man Crush Monday with Lisa Brown Roberts

Today is day one of #YAReaderWeek, and I am so happy you decided to take part. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, simply click here for all the details. And don’t forget to click on the link after the guest post to enter to win a TON of awesome YA and NA books

Without further ado, here’s Lisa Brown Robert’s Man Crush Monday Post:

Introducing Lucas Martinez from HOW TO DROP A CLASS (AND FALL IN LOVE) by Lisa Brown Roberts, coming from Entangled Teen in February, 2015

Thanks for joining us for Man Crush Monday, Lucas Martinez.

What do you mean Man Crush Monday? I thought this was a job interview.

Surprise! We kind of tricked you; you’re such a busy guy, it was the only way to get you here. Have you ever done any modeling, Lucas? You sort of remind me of Johnny Depp.

What? (Frowns at interviewer). Depp is, like, old enough to be my dad. Look, if this isn’t an actual job interview, I need to go.

Just a couple of questions, Lucas. Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? Hobbies?

I don’t have much time for hobbies. I’m taking college classes, babysitting my little sister a lot when my dad’s at work, and I work at a thrift store. Which is where I should be right now…

That’s a lot of responsibility. How about music? Any favorite bands that help you get through the day?

Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Snow Patrol.

Really? That’s surprising. They’re so…emo.

Maybe I’m an emo guy.

Interesting…So, rumor has it your nickname is Magic Hands. Care to expand on that?

Where’d you hear that?

Can you answer the question?

I think the nickname is because I’m pretty good at fixing stuff. Cars, broken gadgets, you know…stuff.

Do you fix broken hearts, too?

(Doesn’t answer; Stares hard at interviewer.)

Tell me about your tattoo, the one peeking out from under your t-shirt sleeve.

Next question.

Excuse me?

Sorry, but it’s not something I talk about with just anyone. It’s personal. Sort of like me asking to read a page from your journal.

I guess you really are emo. All right, next question. Anyone special in your life, Lucas? Someone who does know the meaning of your tattoo? Maybe that girl waiting for you in the lobby?

(Stands up to leave) You remind me of that reporter in Harry Potter. The one with the lying quill. I’m out of here.

Don’t storm off, Lucas; I have more questions. The girl waiting for you, she’s the one whose AWOL dad has been all over the news, isn’t she?

I’m not answering anything about Darcy. Why can’t you reporters leave her and her family alone? You’ve already done enough damage.

(Door slams)

Lucas…Lucas?

HOW TO DROP A CLASS (AND FALL IN LOVE) by Lisa Brown Roberts releases in February 2015 from Entangled Teen.

Darcy Covington is completely unprepared when her car is repossessed from her elite private school and her new nickname, Repo Girl, goes viral. Used to hiding in the shadows of her larger-than-life infomercial king dad and drama queen best friend, Darcy’s forced into the spotlight when her dad goes AWOL.

Can Darcy make a new life for herself and her family on the run-down side of town, decipher the cryptic clues to find her missing dad, and even fall in love along the way?

Pre-order Links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

iBooks

Kobo

Lisa Brown Roberts still hasn’t recovered from the teenage trauma of nearly LBR-color-headshot-200x300-1tweezing off both of her eyebrows and having to pencil them in for an entire school year. This and other angst-filled memories inspire her to write and read YA books about navigating life’s painful and funny dramas, and falling in love along the way. Catch up with Lisa at lisabrownroberts.com, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and Instagram.

In celebration of YA Reader Appreciation Week, from September 22-26, 2014, follow Lisa on Twitter and you might win free books and swag!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “#YAReaderWeek Man Crush Monday with Lisa Brown Roberts”

Leave a Reply

