#YAReaderWeek Transformation Tuesday with Sasha Hibbs

In celebration of all things YA, today is Transformation Tuesday. I am excited to be hosting a fellow Evernight Teen sister, Sasha Hibbs. Enjoy and don’t forget to enter the raffle:

Transformation Tuesday: My novels road to publication.

Thanks so much for having me! My first novel, Black Amaranth, was published August 16, 2013. I signed the contract in April 2013. It took 5 years to get my MS published. During the time leading up to publication, I had queried several agents. I had a handful of agents request fulls but ultimately I received the dreaded rejection letter from them all. After going through several agents, I decided to try a different route. I decided to query publishers instead of agents. At the time, I had no hope of obtaining an actual publisher thinking if my MS wasn’t up to par for the literary agents I queried, but after narrowing my list of publishers who would accept unsolicited queries down to a few, I sent my MS out and had offers from three different publishers within a month, and a fourth who actually made an offer an entire year after I queried them. In the end I was able to pick my publisher which was so exciting. My second novel, Black Abaddon, was published 6 months after the first and receiving the acceptance email was just as thrilling as the first J Now having 2 titles under my belt, my third, Black Atonement, is slated for release on the 26th of this month.

The road to publication is not an easy path and not for the faint-hearted. The road is full of twists, turns, ups, downs, pot-holes, trolls and pretty much everything that can make you want to tuck your tail and run for cover. But if you’re brave enough and persistent, there is light at the end of that road.

You need to have thick skin, the ability to take constructive criticism, and know that regardless of how many rejections you receive, it’s the “one” acceptance that matters…the only one that matters.

Here’s me receiving the news that my book was picked up by a publisher:a me

It’s scary, I know. So here I am trying to look a bit more professional

Final 1  (1)Looks aside (although picture A would’ve made a funny book bio author pic, the publisher’s did not share my vision), you must keep your chin up. And in the words of mighty Joe Dirt, “You gotta keep on keepin’ on.”

3 thoughts on “#YAReaderWeek Transformation Tuesday with Sasha Hibbs”

Leave a Reply

